Preorder Cemetery Hill (Sunshine Walkingstick, Book 3)

Cemetery Hill, the third Sunshine Walkingstick novel, is now available for preorder on Amazon. The expected release date is 13 October 2017. A paperback edition will be available on or around that date, and the audio edition will be available as soon as it can be produced.

I first set the release date for Cemetery Hill a week earlier, but when I looked at my calendar to finalize and realized that Friday the 13th was one week later, I couldn’t resist aligning the release date with that particular spooky day. Considering the nature of Cemetery Hill, the date is actually quite appropriate.

The first scene is up on the book’s page, so go check it out if you haven’t already. As a tiny teaser, Cemetery Hill goes a little deeper into the Cherokee half of Sunny’s background and includes some Cherokee mythology as well. There’s a lot going on in this one, to be honest, so I’ll leave it to y’all to ponder exactly what story lines are explored.

Death Omen: A New Sunshine Walkingstick Short Story

I know readers have been anxiously awaiting Cemetery Hill, the third installment in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, which was supposed to be released two to three weeks ago. The delay is due in large part to my attendance at the RT Booklovers Convention next week; preparing for it took up much more of my time than I anticipated.

Death Omen, a Sunshine Walkingstick short story, by Celia Roman

To make it up to readers, I snuck in a few hours over the past month or so to work on a surprise treat, a short story that takes place about a year and a half prior to the start of Greenwood Cove. In Death Omen, Sunny travels to Atlanta for some R and R, but just her luck: She meets monsters along the way.

Poor Sunny never can catch a break!

Death Omen is being released exclusively for a short time to newsletter subscribers. If you haven’t already joined my mailing list, click here and subscribe to receive your copy of Death Omen.

Thanks for all your support and patience. I’ll have more news on the series when I return from the Con.

The Audiobook Version of Greenwood Cove Is Almost Here!

Last night, I received an exciting email from Rebecca Winder, the narrator of the audiobook version of Greenwood Cove, the first book in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series. She’s finished with the hard part (narrating) and now it’s my turn to proof the finished version.

I chose Rebecca after receiving auditions from several narrators. In spite of being from the Midwest (bless her!), she does an excellent job of portraying Sunny. I’m really looking forward to listening to the finished audiobook and getting it to readers.

Once I finish proofing, ACX (the arm of Amazon dealing with audiobook creation) will do a final quality check, which usually takes a week to ten days, after which it will be available for sale on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes. I’ll let y’all know as soon as it’s live.

In the meantime, I’m working on two projects for lovers of all things Sunshine: Cemetery Hill, the third book in the series, and a surprise I’m not quite ready to talk about yet. Never fear, it’s something you’ll enjoy.

I’m hoping to have the surprise finished prior to the end of the month, as I’m attending the RT Booklovers Convention in Atlanta, held this year during the first week in May. I’m speaking on one of the panels (Horror in Romance), so I’ll be hard to miss for at least that period of time. Be sure to holler at me if you’re at the Con, too!

Now Available: The Deep Wood

The Deep Wood (Sunshine Walkingstick, Book 2) is now available at Amazon for just $2.99.

The print edition will be available within 7-10 days.

Cemetery Hill, the third book, will likely be available by early April 2017. The first scene is online here. To receive a notice of its release, sign up for my newsletter.

Here’s the blurb for The Deep Wood:

When my boy Henry was killed, I tracked a pooka through the deep wood for three days with no food in my gut and only my daddy’s hunting knife for comfort. Was what got me into the monster killing business, that pooka, and I ain’t regretted a single day of it since.

The day I stumbled on a four-legged critter with human eyes, the rightness of my revenge begun to unravel, leading me to a clan of two-natured shifters what’d been living under my nose the whole time. And when the two-natured started showing up in odd places, stalking humans in a very unnatural way, weren’t nothing I could do but dig to the bottom of it.

And what I found turned my world and ever thing I knowed upside down.

Available at Amazon.

Greenwood Cove is now live!

Greenwood Cove, the first novel in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, is now available for just $.99 at Amazon from now through 5 February 2017. It’s also available to borrow through the Kindle Unlimited program and as a paperback for $11.99.

Greenwood Cove by Celia Roman

I’ve had a lot of fun working with the characters in this series. Sunny in particular has been interesting. She’s straight-forward, honest as the day is long, and loyal to the bone. Plus, she knows how to track and kill the things that go bump in the night.

When Sunny first popped into my mind, I had no idea what to do with her, so imagine my surprise when one book turned into a series. Of course, it took two years to write the first book, but who’s counting? In the end, Greenwood Cove is fast paced, tightly written, and a lot of fun to follow.

Here’s the official blurb. If you’re interested in reading the first scene before committing to a purchase, it’s available online on the book’s page.

In the tradition of Jane Yellowrock and Mercy Thompson comes a new action packed Urban Fantasy.

I had three loves in my life: my daddy, him what my mama killed in cold blood; my son Henry, God rest him; and tall as an oak Riley Treadwell.

I lost all of ’em, one way or t’other, ’til Riley showed up on my stoop with a monster problem and tried to wiggle his way back into my life.

Only, weren’t no monster bothering him; was the one bothering his ex-girlfriend what’d stirred up a hornet’s nest out on Lake Burton amongst the muckity mucks. Weren’t no never mind to me, see? I was fine letting well enough alone, ‘cept curiosity got the best of me, and Riley, well. He weren’t above using that silver tongue of his to persuade me ’round to his way of thinking. If I’da listened to my gut, maybe I woulda avoided stepping knee deep into somebody else’s trouble.

Then again, I ain’t never been one to heed a warning when monsters come a-calling.

Available at Amazon.

Preorder Greenwood Cove and The Deep Wood

The digital editions of Greenwood Cove and The Deep Wood, the first two books in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, are available for preorder on Amazon.

Greenwood Cove will be available for the introductory price of $.99 through its release on 3 February 2017 until some time on 5 February 2017, when the price will revert to its regular retail price of $2.99.

The Deep Wood will be released on 17 February 2017. Its preorder and regular retail price are $2.99.

Coming Soon: Greenwood Cove

The individual chapters of Greenwood Cove (Sunshine Walkingstick, Book 1) have been taken offline for a final polishing. I’ll have news on how you can get it in its entirety soon. In the meantime, here’s the official blurb.

 

I had three loves in my life: my daddy, him what my mama killed in cold blood; my son Henry, God rest him; and tall as an oak Riley Treadwell.

I lost all of ’em, one way or t’other, ’til Riley showed up on my stoop with a monster problem and tried to wiggle his way back into my life.

Only, weren’t no monster bothering him; was the one bothering his ex-girlfriend what’d stirred up a hornet’s nest out on Lake Burton amongst the muckity mucks. Weren’t no never mind to me, see? I was fine letting well enough alone, ‘cept curiosity got the best of me, and Riley, well. He weren’t above using that silver tongue of his to persuade me ’round to his way of doing things. If I’da listened to my gut, maybe I woulda avoided stepping knee deep into somebody else’s trouble.

Then again, I ain’t never been one to heed a warning when monsters come a-calling.

 

To receive a notice when Greenwood Cove is available for preorder and on sale, subscribe to my newsletter.

Read Greenwood Cove Chapter by Chapter Right Here!

Tomorrow, the very first chapter of Greenwood Cove, the first novel in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, will go live right here. A new chapter will be published about every other day until the entire novel is online. Eventually, Greenwood Cove will be available for purchase or download at select online retail stores, but that’s a bit down the road.

Releasing this first novel on my blog is a small thank you to Urban Fantasy fans for the support you’ve given the genre over the years. Without you, I never would’ve been able to write and publish Greenwood Cove.

Afraid you’ll forget to drop back by? No worries! Sign up for my newsletter¬†and I’ll send a notice to you when each chapter is released, and then again when the book is available to download as a novel.

See you tomorrow!