Preorder Cemetery Hill (Sunshine Walkingstick, Book 3)

Cemetery Hill, the third Sunshine Walkingstick novel, is now available for preorder on Amazon. The expected release date is 13 October 2017. A paperback edition will be available on or around that date, and the audio edition will be available as soon as it can be produced.

I first set the release date for Cemetery Hill a week earlier, but when I looked at my calendar to finalize and realized that Friday the 13th was one week later, I couldn’t resist aligning the release date with that particular spooky day. Considering the nature of Cemetery Hill, the date is actually quite appropriate.

The first scene is up on the book’s page, so go check it out if you haven’t already. As a tiny teaser, Cemetery Hill goes a little deeper into the Cherokee half of Sunny’s background and includes some Cherokee mythology as well. There’s a lot going on in this one, to be honest, so I’ll leave it to y’all to ponder exactly what story lines are explored.

Now Available: The Deep Wood

The Deep Wood (Sunshine Walkingstick, Book 2) is now available at Amazon for just $2.99.

The print edition will be available within 7-10 days.

Cemetery Hill, the third book, will likely be available by early April 2017. The first scene is online here. To receive a notice of its release, sign up for my newsletter.

Here’s the blurb for The Deep Wood:

When my boy Henry was killed, I tracked a pooka through the deep wood for three days with no food in my gut and only my daddy’s hunting knife for comfort. Was what got me into the monster killing business, that pooka, and I ain’t regretted a single day of it since.

The day I stumbled on a four-legged critter with human eyes, the rightness of my revenge begun to unravel, leading me to a clan of two-natured shifters what’d been living under my nose the whole time. And when the two-natured started showing up in odd places, stalking humans in a very unnatural way, weren’t nothing I could do but dig to the bottom of it.

And what I found turned my world and ever thing I knowed upside down.

Available at Amazon.

Greenwood Cove is now live!

Greenwood Cove, the first novel in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, is now available for just $.99 at Amazon from now through 5 February 2017. It’s also available to borrow through the Kindle Unlimited program and as a paperback for $11.99.

Greenwood Cove by Celia Roman

I’ve had a lot of fun working with the characters in this series. Sunny in particular has been interesting. She’s straight-forward, honest as the day is long, and loyal to the bone. Plus, she knows how to track and kill the things that go bump in the night.

When Sunny first popped into my mind, I had no idea what to do with her, so imagine my surprise when one book turned into a series. Of course, it took two years to write the first book, but who’s counting? In the end, Greenwood Cove is fast paced, tightly written, and a lot of fun to follow.

Here’s the official blurb. If you’re interested in reading the first scene before committing to a purchase, it’s available online on the book’s page.

In the tradition of Jane Yellowrock and Mercy Thompson comes a new action packed Urban Fantasy.

I had three loves in my life: my daddy, him what my mama killed in cold blood; my son Henry, God rest him; and tall as an oak Riley Treadwell.

I lost all of ’em, one way or t’other, ’til Riley showed up on my stoop with a monster problem and tried to wiggle his way back into my life.

Only, weren’t no monster bothering him; was the one bothering his ex-girlfriend what’d stirred up a hornet’s nest out on Lake Burton amongst the muckity mucks. Weren’t no never mind to me, see? I was fine letting well enough alone, ‘cept curiosity got the best of me, and Riley, well. He weren’t above using that silver tongue of his to persuade me ’round to his way of thinking. If I’da listened to my gut, maybe I woulda avoided stepping knee deep into somebody else’s trouble.

Then again, I ain’t never been one to heed a warning when monsters come a-calling.

Available at Amazon.

Preorder Greenwood Cove and The Deep Wood

The digital editions of Greenwood Cove and The Deep Wood, the first two books in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, are available for preorder on Amazon.

Greenwood Cove will be available for the introductory price of $.99 through its release on 3 February 2017 until some time on 5 February 2017, when the price will revert to its regular retail price of $2.99.

The Deep Wood will be released on 17 February 2017. Its preorder and regular retail price are $2.99.

Coming Soon: Greenwood Cove

The individual chapters of Greenwood Cove (Sunshine Walkingstick, Book 1) have been taken offline for a final polishing. I’ll have news on how you can get it in its entirety soon. In the meantime, here’s the official blurb.

 

I had three loves in my life: my daddy, him what my mama killed in cold blood; my son Henry, God rest him; and tall as an oak Riley Treadwell.

I lost all of ’em, one way or t’other, ’til Riley showed up on my stoop with a monster problem and tried to wiggle his way back into my life.

Only, weren’t no monster bothering him; was the one bothering his ex-girlfriend what’d stirred up a hornet’s nest out on Lake Burton amongst the muckity mucks. Weren’t no never mind to me, see? I was fine letting well enough alone, ‘cept curiosity got the best of me, and Riley, well. He weren’t above using that silver tongue of his to persuade me ’round to his way of doing things. If I’da listened to my gut, maybe I woulda avoided stepping knee deep into somebody else’s trouble.

Then again, I ain’t never been one to heed a warning when monsters come a-calling.

 

To receive a notice when Greenwood Cove is available for preorder and on sale, subscribe to my newsletter.

Read Greenwood Cove Chapter by Chapter Right Here!

Tomorrow, the very first chapter of Greenwood Cove, the first novel in the Sunshine Walkingstick Series, will go live right here. A new chapter will be published about every other day until the entire novel is online. Eventually, Greenwood Cove will be available for purchase or download at select online retail stores, but that’s a bit down the road.

Releasing this first novel on my blog is a small thank you to Urban Fantasy fans for the support you’ve given the genre over the years. Without you, I never would’ve been able to write and publish Greenwood Cove.

Afraid you’ll forget to drop back by? No worries! Sign up for my newsletter¬†and I’ll send a notice to you when each chapter is released, and then again when the book is available to download as a novel.

See you tomorrow!

Greenwood Cove by Celia Roman

Introducing Sunshine Walkingstick

A couple of years ago, a character walked into my life and captured my imagination, and now I’d like to share her story with you.

Sunshine Walkingstick is a no nonsense young woman on the downside of a tragic life. Her son Henry died a few years ago at the age of six, prompting Sunny to begin cleaning house on the monsters in her local area. She’s taken down more than a few in her time using her daddy’s hunting knife, one of the few mementos she has of him.

Sunny’s charm lies in her blunt appraisal of the world around her, and that forthright honesty extends to herself as well. In her mind, she’s a “no account half-breed,” the daughter of a man who ran off to be with another man and the woman who killed them both in cold blood. Henry was her saving grace, and when Sunny lost him, she blamed herself.

But that’s a story for another time.

In a couple of days, you’ll have a chance to begin reading Sunny’s story as it’s told in Greenwood Cove, the first book in a new Urban Fantasy series set in rural Appalachia and narrated by Sunny in her native dialect. Check back soon for more details. In the meantime, welcome to Sunny’s world.